Pairings | Cheeses & rosé

Publié le 13 August 2021

Here is the continuation of our cheese pairings, this time with rosé!

Who says rosé, usually says aperitif on the terrace, swimming pool, BBQ marinated shrimp. But cheeses? There are so many different rosés that it would be simplistic to give you just one way to match your rosé with one type of cheese.

So let’s talk about rosé for a few lines. To make rosé wine, black grapes are used whose flesh is white or translucent and whose juice is white. It is the skin (with its anthocyanins) that brings color to the wine. We will look for this coloring by pressing or by bleeding.

In the first case, the grapes are pressed and depending on the grape variety and its maturity, we will obtain a more or less pale rosé. Rosés de pressed (direct pressing) are generally lighter and paler. A rosé de saignée is obtained following a more or less long maceration of the grapes in the vat and the result is a wine that is generally more colorful and endowed with a little tannins.

So, in general terms, rosés de pressed will be more suitable for fresh cheeses, whether they are from cow, goat or sheep. For the bleeding rosés, we would go for slightly matured cheeses, with a bloomy or even washed rind. Light rosé, light cheese… strong rosé, strong cheese! This is often what I have read. But in all cases, it is preferable to marry your rosé with a cheese from the same terroir.

L’Orpailleur rosé is a rosé with direct pressing, or rosé de pressed, a blend of seyval noir and vidal. The result is a balanced wine with aromas of field berries, a floral side reminiscent of the white flower and a fresh finish on cranberries.

The Chemin de Hatley from the Fromagerie La Station, Le Pont blanc or the Iberville from the Fromagerie Au gré des champs and the Zacharie Cloutier from the Fromagerie de la Nouvelle-France will make your effort to restrain completely useless!

Come on, enjoy this beautiful summer!

Lucie B.

Latest News


Pairings | Cheeses & rosé
13 August 2021

Here is the continuation of our cheese pairings, this time with rosé! Who says rosé, usually says aperitif on the terrace, swimming pool, BBQ marinated shrimp. But cheeses? There are […]

Read more →


Activities | Fall schedule
30 August 2021

Dear friends, visitors & tourists, The energy of the harvest and our magnificent colourful landscapes make autumn one of our favourite season to welcome you at the vineyard! Please note […]

Read more →

Accords | Fromages & rosé

Publié le 13 août 2021

Voici la suite de nos accords des fromages, cette fois avec le rosé!

Qui dit rosé, dit habituellement apéro sur la terrasse, piscine, crevettes marinées au BBQ. Mais fromages? Il y a tellement de différents rosés qu’il serait simpliste de vous donner une seule façon d’accorder votre rosé à un type de fromage.

Parlons donc rosé pour quelques lignes. Pour faire du vin rosé, on utilise des raisins noirs dont la chair est blanche ou translucide et dont le jus est blanc. C’est la peau (avec ses anthocyanes) qui apporte la coloration au vin. On ira chercher cette coloration par pressée ou par saignée.

Dans le premier cas, on presse le raisin et tout dépendant du cépage et de sa maturité, on obtiendra un rosé plus ou moins pâle. Les rosés de pressé (pressurage direct) sont généralement plus légers et plus pâles. Un rosé de saignée quant à lui est obtenu à la suite d’une macération plus ou moins longue des raisins en cuve et on obtiendra un vin généralement plus coloré et doté d’un peu de tanins.  

Donc, pour faire dans les généralités, les rosés de pressés conviendront mieux aux fromages frais, qu’ils soient de vache, de chèvre ou de brebis. Pour les rosés de saignée, on se lancerait dans les fromages légèrement affinés, à croûte fleurie ou même lavée. Rosé léger, fromage léger…rosé costaud, fromage costaud ! C’est souvent ce que j’ai lu. Mais dans tous les cas, il est préférable de marier votre rosé avec un fromage du même terroir.

L’Orpailleur rosé est un rosé à pressurage direct, ou rosé de pressée, assemblage de seyval noir et de vidal. Il en résulte un vin équilibré avec des arômes de petits fruits des champs, un côté floral rappelant la fleur blanche et une finale en fraîcheur sur la canneberge.

Le chemin de Hatley de la Fromagerie La Station, Le Pont blanc ou le d’Iberville de la Fromagerie Au gré des champs et le Zacharie Cloutier de la Fromagerie de la Nouvelle-France rendront votre effort de retenue tout à fait inutile!

Allez, profitez bien de ce bel été!

Lucie B.

Nouvelles récentes


Questions & réponses
9 septembre 2021

C’est curieux sur Facebook vous êtes situé à Dunham, mais au Royaume-Uni (UK) ? On est bien situé à Dunham au Québec, juste ici : ht tps://bit.ly/3jmGldt La ville de […]

Lire la suite →


Accords | Fromages & rosé
13 août 2021

Voici la suite de nos accords des fromages, cette fois avec le rosé! Qui dit rosé, dit habituellement apéro sur la terrasse, piscine, crevettes marinées au BBQ. Mais fromages? Il […]

Lire la suite →